A Re-Introduction

11/16/2009

I had forgotten why this was written.  Today, I remembered.

Times Past

And what seemed like a split second, time stopped.

Not for a minute had I thought of judging war through one eye;

I woke for a moment to find a place to reflect and cast my cast to the side.

I heard”…a toast for those here,” as the cry from the ole grain-faced captain.

“Twenty-seven meets three – life should gain some concrete direction.”

I chose to sink my posts a bottle wide.

I drank it down and smoked for dry.

Only fools refuse their mistakes; never to affirm when a ton weighs simply a pound.

Too many times have I climbed the same transparent hill, only to come out behind my self made middle-ground.

For what felt like tomorrow is now today.

Times pass so quickly; those who matter weave tight bonds without the fear they will fray.

When there isn’t a silver lining on every tree, be it a cloud to hold formal title; shade advice sold for free.

These stitches seem worthless; all scars should reflect who we are and where we’ve been.

The cover-up for time past and those too stoic to attest for ageless sins.

For each new year generates the generations to come,

The drums will continue to beat and the strings will be heartily strung.

However uncertain, our creations will trek through life on a self-guided track.

There becomes a choice to be made for the sake of dismissing selfish acts.

Realizing that joy brought us here, for our cups to be filled, over the intimidation and worry of future years standing still.

One dream breaths reality while another takes on a fiction of its own.

An unwritten novel, which sounds good in theory, but is not etched in stone.

While I appeal for the interest of a lost sea or vacant lot,

I see a light reflect from a door left ajar,

And what seemed like a split second time stopped.

Andrew Miller, 2005

One Response to “A Re-Introduction”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

